Home > Tech > Tablets – The new PDA

Tablets – The new PDA


The tablet boom is in full swing, with more and more friends and work colleagues buying these devices. Some are saying that PC’s are in trouble ( I don’t think so ) , while others are saying that the whole tablet thing is just a fad ( not sure about that either ).

What I do know is that I want a tablet. Why ? To read ebooks, browse the web at home , and maybe check mail and use some apps. It will definitely not replace my laptop as Steve Jobs says it will.What I did realize though , is that it will replace my PDA. Hear me out.

I’ve been a PDA user for almost a decade. The early draw was not just mail and appointments , but web surfing ( phones 10 years ago had small screens , the experience was much better on a PDA ) , ebook reading ( not ideal but I’ve read many a book on various PDA’s that I’ve had ), and watching movies ( before the ipod touch came out , for years I watched movies on my Windows Mobile Pocket Loox using the Core Player – and no conversion needed ).

Now while I look to my smartphone ( HTC Mozart with Windows Phone) for the Email and Meeting functionality , the smartphone for me has not really replaced the PDA. I don’t watch movies or play games on my phone , since I’m wary of killing the battery. Although modern phones have better screens than PDAs of yore , I don’t want to read ebooks there , since I’ve already seen what  tablets can do. I do surf the web on my phone , but once again the tablet looks more appealing.

So for me , tablets are the new PDA, with better reading functionality. And I couldn’t be more happy. You see , when smartphones killed PDA’s , I was actually annoyed, becuase I didn’t actually want to do everything on my phone. I held on to a combination of my old Pocket Looz and my iPod Touch + whatever phone I was using at the time.

But now that the tablet revolution is here – the only question is – which model to buy ?

Categories: Tech
  1. Edster
    June 5, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    Yep, I’m in the same boat…just looking for a simple but reliable PDA replacement in a laptop, don’t need all the fancy bells and whistles, just like the nice big screen. Calendar, contacts, to-do list, notes … just the basics. Wish Palm made a tablet, loved how intuitive their OS was back in the day. Ebook viewing, Office docs, photo sharing, video and audio support…these are nice features too. But I don’t really need 3G or 4G, or really even WiFi for that matter. Does such a stripped down device even exist?

    • June 7, 2011 at 8:13 am

      Hi Edster. Well some of the entry level Android tablets might be what you are looking for. I’m not a fan of the interface at the moment though. Windows 8 also looks quite exciting but might be more “high end”. I still haven’t bought that tablet – waiting to see whats coming out over the next few months.

  2. Linda Bickley
    July 16, 2011 at 6:01 am

    Hi Thavash and Edster, This addressed something I’ve been thinking about for a while. I’ve also used PDA’s for many years, my most recent is a faithful iPAQ 1950. (The “only” issue over the years has been downloading to my PC and/or laptop. This is not a small thing, but I really would like ability to download my Contacts and Notes.) Anyway, today I dropped my iPAQ on the floor in a store, the back came off, and the battery skittered away to who knows where–never found. I can replace the battery, but might this be a sign that I should give in to my desire for an iPad? If so, the big benefit I’d be giving up is the ability to carry my iPAQ in my purse, to use the Tasks/Notes/Contacts while away from home and office. Does this not affect other people’s decisions on whether to make the switch? Any thoughts are appreciated! Thanks, Linda

  3. July 18, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    Hi Linda. Well if you can afford to get a new tablet , then it might be time for an upgrade. If you are concerned about portability , perhaps a 7 inch tablet would be right for you ? Currently the only 7 incher is the Samsung Galaxy Tab ( to my knowledge ), but there are rumours that Apple will launch a 7 inch iPad later this year, and we might see Windows 8 models next year. For the record I have purchased an iPad 2 , to keep me busy until Windows 8 launches. As for the syncing of Tasks / Notes / Contacts, I can sync Contacts and Appointments with the iPad , didn’t see an option to do the others. Once again not sure what is possible with Android ( Any Android users wish to comment ? ) Perhaps the best thing you should do is get that battery for your iPaq for now , and make a choice of tablet when a wider range is available in 6 months time ? That way you don’t make a compromise now and regret the decision a bit later.

  4. Linda Bickley
    July 19, 2011 at 3:09 am

    Hi Thavash,

    Thanks so much for your quick and thoughtful response — I appreciate it! I’ve ordered the replacement PDA battery but will look into Samsung reviews. I’ll look forward to more feedback from anyone using Samsung Galaxy, or with other suggestions/recommendations.
    Linda

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

